Home » Facts Dalmatia

Facts Dalmatia

flag-dalmatiaDalmatia is the biggest tourist region in Croatia. It is usually divided in three parts:

  • Northern Dalmatia with Zadar as the main centre
  • Central Dalmatia with Split as the main centre
  • Southern Dalmatia with Dubrovnik as the main centre

Population in Dalmatia

  • About 860 000, density 71.5/km2

Territory of Dalmatia

  • 12 260 km2
  • borders to Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro and sea border to Italy
  • stretches from Tribanj in the north to Konavle in the south
  • 78% of Croatian island is in Dalmatia

Climate in Dalmatia

  • predominatly mediterranean climate with an average winter temperature of 6° C and an average summer temperature of 24° C

Nationalpark Krka waterfalls swimming is allowedNational Parks in Dalmatia

Nature Parks in Dalmatia

  • Nature Park Telascica
  • Nature Park Lastovo Islands
  • Nature Park Biokovo
  • Nature Park Vrana Lake

Lakes in Dalmatia

  • Vrana Lake, 30 km2
  • Lake Prokljan, 11.5 km2
  • Lake Peruca, 13 km2
  • Red Lake
  • Blue Lake
  • Green Lake
  • Bacina Lakes

Hvar LavenderMajor Islands in Dalmatia

1) Northern Dalmatia

  • Island of Ugljan
  • Island of Pasman
  • Islands of Kornati
  • Island of Dugi Otok
  • Island of Murter

2) Central Dalmatia

3) Southern Dalmatia

The biggest islands are Brac (394 km2), Hvar (299 km2) and Pag (284 km2). Brac is also the  island with the highest peak Vidova gora of 780 m.

Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also Comments Feed via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong> 

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.